Moto2 2017 provisional entry list

moto2_1The year of 2017 has already begun so it is time to pay attention to the upcoming season. First of all let’s take a look at the Moto2 provisional entry list for the season. I personally guess that it will be also the final version, I don’t expect any changes there.

No. Rider Team Motorbike
2 Jesko Raffin (SWI) CarXpert Interwetten Kalex
5 Andrea Locatelli (ITA) Italtrans Racing Team Kalex
7 Lorenzo Baldassarri (ITA) Forward Team Kalex
9 Jorge Navarro (SPA) Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Kalex
10 Luca Marini (ITA) Forward Team Kalex
11 Sandro Cortese (GER) Dynavolt Intact GP Suter
12 Thomas Lüthi (SWI) Garage Plus Interwetten Kalex
19 Xavier Simeon (BEL) Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto2 Kalex
21 Franco Morbidelli (ITA) EG 0,0 Marc VDS Kalex
23 Marcel Schrötter (GER) Dynavolt Intact GP Suter
24 Simone Corsi (ITA) Speed Up Speed Up
27 Iker Lecuona (SPA) CarXpert Interwetten Kalex
30 Takaaki Nakagami (JPN) Idemitsu Honda Team Asia Kalex
32 Isaac Viñales (SPA) SAG Team Kalex
40 Fabio Quartararo (FRA) Páginas Amarillas HP 40 Kalex
41 Brad Binder (RSA) Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM
42 Francesco Bagnaia (ITA) Sky Racing Team VR46 Kalex
44 Miguel Oliveira (POR) Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM
45 Tetsuta Nagashima (JPN) Teluru SAG Team Kalex
47 Axel Bassani (ITA) Speed Up Speed Up
49 Axel Pons (SPA) RW Racing GP Kalex
52 Danny Kent (GBR) Kiefer Racing Suter
54 Mattia Pasini (ITA) Italtrans Racing Team Kalex
55 Hafizh Syahrin (MAL) Petronas Raceline Malaysia Kalex
57 Edgar Pons (SPA) Páginas Amarillas HP40 Kalex
62 Stefano Manzi (ITA) Sky Racing Team VR46 Kalex
68 Yonny Hernández (COL) AGR Team Kalex
73 Alex Márquez (SPA) EG 0,0 Marc VDS Kalex
77 Dominique Aegerter (SWI) Kiefer Racing Suter
87 Remy Gardner (AUS) Tech 3 Racing Tech 3
89 Khairul Idham Pawi (MAL) Idemitsu Honda Team Asia Kalex
97 Xavi Vierge (SPA) Tech 3 Racing Tech 3

Let’s look at the changes for the season. After 5 years in MotoGP Yonny Hernández comes back to this class. He will race for team AGR and will be the only one rider of this team.

We will have here some newcomers who come from Moto3 class. Moto3 2016 World Champion Brad Binder will race for the KTM team run by Aki Ajo. The KTM created a team in Moto2 but they have to use the Honda engine, as it is in the rules. Let’s see how this project will do. Binder’s team mate will be Miguel Oliveira. They know each other very well as they were team mates in Moto3 time ago. In 2016 Oliveira was racing for Leopard Team in Moto2 but it wasn’t an easy season for him.

Another rookies from Moto3 are coming. Jorge Navarro will race for Gresini, Francesco “Pecco” Bagnaia will race for Valentino Rossi ‘s team Sky VR46. This team was only in Moto3 but from the upcoming season they expand to Moto2 class. Bagnaia’s team mate will be Stefano Manzi.

Also Khairul Idham Pawi, Fabio Quartararo and Andrea Locatelli are coming from Moto3.

Tetsuta Nagashima did some wild card appearances, in 2017 he will be regular participant here. He will race for SAG team.

To me the biggest surprise was the announcement of Axel Bassani coming to this Championship. He is the FIM European Supersport Champion 2016 and this is great chance for him to show and sell his talent.

It’s not only about newcomers, some riders did change their team. So sum it up. Isaac Viñales goes to SAG (actually it is the place after Luis Salom). Marcel Schrötter goes to Dynavolt Intact. Remy Gardner goes to Tech 3. Xavier Simeon goes to Tasca Racing while Dominique Aegerter will be racing for team Kiefer. We remember this team under a name Leopard, from 2017 they go back to their original name.

Axel Pons goes to RW Racing. This team will make their debut in this category.

Jesko Raffin moves to CarXpert Interwetten. Iker Lecuona did race for this team part of the year 2016, in 2017 he takes regular place there.

In other news, I have already mentioned the change of the Leopard Team name. They also switch to Suter. But there are some other news. Dynavolt Intact GP team is going from Kalex to Suter. QMMF team unfortunately withdrew from the Championship so we will not see them on the grid in 2017.

Photo: Dynavolt Intact GP


About Monika

I am a girl who loves motorbikes and writing. These two things are the biggest passion of my life.
This entry was posted in Moto2 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s