WorldSSP: Crazy race in Aragon

The third race weekend of the World Superbikes was in Spain at the Motorland Aragon circuit. It was also the third race weekend of the World Supersport Championship. Patrick Jacobsen started from pole position to the race, Kenan Sofuoglu was next to him and Sheridan Morais completed the front row.

Kenan Sofuoglu came back to the World Championship after he had to skip the first two rounds due to serious arm injury.

Anthony West did register to the race weekend but unfortunately after technical problems from Friday he wasn’t able to continue in the weekend.

Sheridan Morais was the one who went to the lead immediately after the race started. Kyle Smith, Lucas Mahias and Kenan Sofuoglu were chasing him.

Robin Mulhauser crashed already in the first lap. It was quite a heavy highsider.

How the race was going there was a group of 6 in the lead. There were Smith, Morais, Mahias, Sofuoglu, Tuuli, Jacobsen. Also Cluzel, Caricasulo and Gamarino wasn’t far from them.

But then quite a lot of favourites crashed from the race.

First it was Niki Tuuli. Later Federico Caricasulo crashed and Kenan Sofuoglu wasn’t able to avoid him and crashed over his bike.

Kyle Smith also crashed but he re-joined the race.

So Lucas Mahias and Sheridan Morias was the two riders fighting for the victory. Morais was leading big part of the race. In the last lap Mahias did overtake him and then it was fight until the finish line.

Lucas Mahias won the race just by 0.014 ahead of Sheridan Morais! But still it was the best career result for the man from South Africa. PJ Jacobsen finished 3rd.

Jules Cluzel finally finished a race this season, so it’s very valuable P4.

Michael Canducci was 5th, Roberto Rolfo 6th, Christian Gamarino 7th, Kyle Ryde 8th, Hannes Soomer 9th, Luke Stapleford 10th.

Hannes Soomer is one of the boys who race in the European Supersport Championship and he was the best one there. So he leads their Championship standings now.

In the race then Okubo was 11th, Hartog (another ESS rider) 12th, Xavier Cardelus García (who replaced injured Baldolini) was 13th, Khairuddin 14th and Watanabe 15th.

Kyle Smith made it only to P16 so he’s without points from this round.

Lucas Mahias is now in the Championship standings lead with 45 points. Roberto Rolfo has 40 points, Sheridan Morais has 34 points.

In the Manufacturers standings there is Yamaha on top with 70 points. MV Agusta has 46 points, Kawasaki 37 points.

GRT Yamaha Official WorldSSP Team leads the Team standings with 70 points. Kallio Racing is 2nd with 61 points, Kawasaki Puccetti Racing has 45 points.

The next round of the Championship is planned for 28th – 30th April in the Netherlands, in Assen. There will be both, WSSP and ESS riders on track again.

Photo: World SBK


About Monika

I am a girl who loves motorbikes and writing. These two things are the biggest passion of my life.
This entry was posted in WorldSBK, WorldSSP and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s