Moto2: Morbidelli wins for the 4th time this year

Another Moto2 race of the season did take place in France, at Le Mans circuit. Thomas Lüthi started from pole position, Francesco Bagnaia was on 2nd place, Franco Morbidelli started from 3rd position.

In the second row there were Luca Marini, Dominique Aegerter and Alex Márquez (who crashed on Saturday and had hairline fracture in his foot). In the third row there were Mattia Pasini, Lorenzo Baldassarri and Marcel Schrötter.

Iker Lecuona was involved in that Saturday’s incident with Márquez and he broke his collarbone (yes, again) so he wasn’t able to continue in the race weekend.

Brad Binder wasn’t ready yet to race so it was Ricky Cardus again who replaced him in Ajo team.

Danny Kent split from Kiefer team and Tarran Mackenzie did replace him there. Tarran is last year’s British Supersport Champion and this season he has won 6 races in a row there (= all races in the season so far).

Thomas Lüthi had good start but so did Franco Morbidelli who went to the lead during the lap 1. Behind Lüthi there was Bagnaia, then Márquez and Aegerter. But Márquez overtook Bagnaia for P3.

Luca Marini crashed from the race already in the first lap.

In front there was a group of Morbidelli, Lüthi, Márquez and Bagnaia.

In lap number 7 Lüthi was in the lead but it was quite a hard battle between him and Morbidelli. Lüthi was a little bit wide after a small contact and he went down to the fourth place.

Morbidelli was in the lead, Bagnaia second, Márquez third, Lüthi fourth. All these four riders were going one fast lap by another one. Even also new lap record was set.

Francesco Bagnaia tried to catch Morbidelli.

Four laps to go Thomas Lüthi managed to go past Márquez for P3.

Franco Morbidelli kept it until the end and he won the race. He took his 4th victory of the season from 5 races. So he has either victory or DNF so far.

Francesco Bagnaia did another perfect race as he was 2nd. Impressive from a rookie!

Thomas Lüthi took P3.

Alex Márquez was 4th, Mattia Pasini 5th, Dominique Aegerter 6th, Takaaki Nakagami 7th, Simone Corsi 8th, Xavi Vierge 9th and Yonny Hernández completed top 10.

Hafizh Syahrin, Marcel Schrötter, Ricky Cardus, Sandro Cortese and Axel Pons were on points too.

Xavier Simeon, Miguel Oliveira, Fabio Quartararo (the best and only one Frenchman there), Andrea Locatelli, Remy Gardner, Tetsuta Nagashima, Khairul Idham Pawi, Jesko Raffin, Axel Bassani and Edgar Pons were outside points.

Luca Marini, Jorge Navarro, Stefano Manzi, Lorenzo Baldassarri, Tarran Mackenzie crashed during the race, Isaac Viñales retired from the race in the last lap.

Franco Morbidelli is the Championship leader with 100 points. Thomas Lüthi has 80 points, Alex Márquez has 62 points. Then behind him there is Miguel Oliveira with 59 points, then Francesco Bagnaia has 53 points.

Kalex is the best one in the Constructor standings now with 125 points, KTM is 2nd with 62 points and on the 3rd place there is Suter with 44 points. Then Tech 3 has 32 points and Speed Up 27 points.

Next race weekend will be in 2 weeks in Italy, in Mugello.

Photo: MotoGP


About Monika

I am a girl who loves motorbikes and writing. These two things are the biggest passion of my life.
This entry was posted in Moto2, MotoGP and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s